4 comments on “Musings on attraction…

  1. I think that you bring up an interesting perspective. It is pretty much the basis of the idea of arranged marriages as well as those of many LDS marriages, you match with someone who has the same qualities, values, ideals, etc. and then grow into love with them, although there usually is at least a base of some sort of attraction with the LDS marriages I know, but the idea is the same. I think it really depends on the individual. If it something that a person is willing to base everything on and they honestly think that an attraction can grow in time, then why not? But I honestly think that despite the boxes being checked, there usually is always at least some sort of physical attraction between two people that makes a relationship turn romantic, that’s why we don’t go around kissing our really good friends, although sometimes some people might want to, especially if they’ve already been “friend-zoned.”

    Speaking for myself, I don’t think that women should have to settle, but I think it’s important for everyone to really look at everything as a whole. If there is absolutely no physical attraction, then it’s kind of a lost cause. But if there is some attraction, albeit not the most perfect-Hollywood-type-fantasty, then I think that a person should definitely consider the possibility. I think the same goes with height. Some women like to date guys who are usually taller than them, but I’ve dated guys who are shorter than me because, despite their height, they’re a great guy, good personality, common interests, etc. I think it’s all really dependent on the individual and what they are willing to compromise/balance. Good luck!

    • Thanks for stopping by (again). Apologies – this post probably came across as a tad chauvinistic. I’m in no way suggesting women should settle – I just feel exhausted because I think there was mutual physical attraction. Interestingly, I’m no fan of arranged or LDS marriages etc. but doing it the old-fashioned way is proving to be an entertaining soul-journey…! Thanks for your thoughts

      SM

      • Anytime! And if you ever wanted to chat on skype about things, lmk. It’s always nice having conversations about faith, dating and life with other young adults in our current generation and world.

  2. You should check out Rational Male by Rollo Tomassi. It is about intergender dynamics as well as how psychological and social forces affect the relations between the genders.

Leave a Reply

